STAR Test Results

My daughter’s English teacher informed me a few days ago that she would be administering the STAR Reading test on Monday (yesterday) and that she would like Faith to take the test.  It does not count toward their grade (not relevant in this case as she has a strong A in most of her classes… we don’t have final for one of them yet); but, is a placement guideline to determine on what grade level the student is reading.

An avid reader, she’s always been 2-3 years ahead of her grade on these types of tests.  Last fall; however, heading into the worst exacerbation of her life (we hope and pray she never experiences anything as severe again), her score dropped a little (I think it was grade level 8.0) from what it had been the prior year, when she was in 5th grade (I think she tested at grade level 8.3 in January of her fifth grade year).  I knew the assessment in fall 2010 (6th grade) was not accurate, but they left her at that level until she could re-test.

As it turned out, she was too ill to attend school most of the school year and simply read for pleasure at home…. like me, reading has always been one of her favorite hobbies.

She took the test and told me when she got home that she was the first one done and the test was easy.  I wasn’t sure what to make of that.  She is NOT taking antibiotics and in the midst of a PANDAS exacerbation as we pass a few days waiting to do a strep throat culture at the doctor’s office at the end of this week (Friday).  As I posted last night, she had a rough day at school, followed by a rather difficult episode that evening.  It’s clear that the antibodies are swinging into full gear as they attack her brain.  It’s difficult and painful to witness.

In any case, she told me this evening that she received the results of the STAR test she took yesterday.  Her assessment places her on a 12.1 grade level.  🙂  Yes, you read that correctly.  My ‘almost done with 6th grade’ daughter is reading on a 12.1 grade level… an increase of 4 grades since the autumn assessment and almost double her current actual grade level.

I am so proud of my precious daughter, who never ceases to amaze and inspire!  Way to go, kiddo!!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: End of the school year … « ~♥~ Faith's Updates ~♥~
  2. Eating as a Path to Yoga
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 21:14:39

    I would ask the teachers if they were using national norms or local norms. That would give you a truer picture of her abilities. Or you could just love her, and let her read, read, read!!!!

    Reply

    • PANDAS - PITAND ~ Mom to My Hero
      Aug 08, 2011 @ 22:18:51

      Regardless of whether it was national or local norms (I think they usually use national in our area, but local numbers are generally quite high here), it’s a huge improvement given how sick she has been this year and shows her brain is healing. For that, I am very thankful! 🙂

      Reply

  3. Crimson Wife
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 19:18:58

    How did your daughter get the STAR test results so quickly? My DD took the test back in April and here it is the 2nd week of August and we’re still waiting on the results.

    Reply

    • PANDAS - PITAND ~ Mom to My Hero
      Aug 08, 2011 @ 22:30:32

      I think it might depend on the school. I had to go request the information when she was in elementary school. This year, she brought it home within the week.
      You might want to check with the librarian; they often have a record of the test results.

      Reply

  4. MSJE
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 14:51:50

    STAR test results don’t arrive the next day of the tests. Did you actually see the result. Was it a CST or just a local reading assessment?

    Reply

  5. Erin
    Aug 14, 2011 @ 20:17:10

    Results for the Star Testing were just released last week by the state of California who score them. She must have taken a different reading test administered by the school, not the state of California. There are many assessment tests that teachers can administer. (BTW, I am a school counselor).

    Reply

    • PANDAS - PITAND ~ Mom to My Hero
      Oct 06, 2011 @ 12:35:14

      I have confirmed with her teachers, her guidance counselor and the librarian. The test was the national STAR test and in our school district, results are available immediately.
      I’m glad you are reading this blog if you are a school counselor. It’s important that school personnel are aware of this condition, PANDAS (Pediatric Autoimmune Neuropsychiatric Disorder Associated with Streptococcal infections), how to recognize the signs and refer parents to a medical doctor for help in treating this auto-immune condition that is often mistaken for a psychiatric condition.

      Reply

  6. martin le
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 04:42:36

    The STAR test is administered in April/May and results are not available until August. I’m quite certain you must have mistaken.

    Reply

    • PANDAS - PITAND ~ Mom to My Hero
      Nov 20, 2011 @ 14:31:53

      I assume you are referring to the National STAR test; there are STAR tests other than this one and our school district likely uses one of those. I think this is where the confusion is. Perhaps I should have been clearer about that at the start, but it wasn’t the main point of this post. Thanks for your response and I hope my blog has helped you to better understand the disease, Pediatric Autoimmune Neuropsychiatric Disorders Associated with Streptococcal Infections (P.A.N.D.A.S.), that my daughter and so many other children are fighting daily. Thank you for reading it and thanks for your comment. All the best!

      Reply

  7. Erin Buoen
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 12:39:47

    Does your daughter go to a public school? or private? I think the information you are receiving is incorrect. The STAR testing is scored by the state and results for ALL STAR testing is not released until August, along with the school API scores. As a school counselor and STAR testing coordinator, I try to be up to date on all testing issues as well as issues that affect students.

    Reply

    • PANDAS - PITAND ~ Mom to My Hero
      Nov 20, 2011 @ 14:39:44

      I assume you are referring to the National STAR test; there are STAR tests other than this one and our school district likely uses one of those. I think this is where the confusion is. Perhaps I should have been clearer about that at the start, but it wasn’t the main point of this post. Thanks for your response and I hope my blog has helped you to better understand the disease, Pediatric Autoimmune Neuropsychiatric Disorders Associated with Streptococcal Infections (P.A.N.D.A.S.) and Pediatric Infection Triggered Auto-immune Neuropsychiatric Diseases (P.I.T.A.N.D.), that my daughter and so many other children are fighting daily. In your role as a school counselor, it’s likely that you have children in your school who struggle with this condition, whether they or you realize it. So many children are undiagnosed or mis-diagnosed. Sudden onset is the hallmark sign of PANDAS-PITAND. I hope my blog will reach out to those children and families and perhaps help someone else’s child receive the accurate diagnosis and treatment they need. Thank you for reading it and thanks for your comment. All the best!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications (instant, daily, weekly or never) of new posts by email.

Join 70 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,021 hits
