PICC line & Tea Room

I was up at 4 am this morning to prepare to leave for a 6:30 am appointment at our Children’s Hospital… had to allow for traffic & travel time.  I woke her just in time to leave the house.

Arrived, checked in and got breakfast, then up to the floor where we waited for assessment, pre-paperwork, etc.  The RN doing the procedure placed a numbing cream on her upper arm… both sides, although we both liked the look of the left side better.

Waiting for pre-assessment

Video game distraction while waiting for her nurse

Soon after, she took the medication for the procedure and we went down for placement of the PICC line.  She looks so ill in these photos… pale, reddened circled eyes, poor babe… but that’s what we’re here to correct!

Placement was completed without complication (left arm, as we anticipated) and x-ray confirmed correct location.  It flushed fine three times and was ready for use.  As usual, Faith was a model patient… so calm that they only gave her the anxiety dosage of the medication that is usually given in sedative dosage for this procedure.  She was very interested in the procedure itself and watched the entire process…. hmm… any idea where she gets that???  😉

After PICC line placement – watching TV

After PICC placement – Cocoa has a PICC too! ♥

Another RN ran the antibiotic and she was ready to go…. sometime after noon.

We had lunch at a nearby Tea Room, which was nice… aside from a few minutes when we first arrived and were waiting to be seated… I’ll share for the comic relief value, so try not to throw anything at your computer screen while reading and simply skip the next three paragraphs if you’re only here for the medical updates.

A woman who apparently worked there (she took our reservation over the phone), came out to greet us and within less than a minute of meeting us for the first time (Faith, mentioned we just left the hospital after having her PICC line inserted because of recurrent strep throat infections), went into a hard sell mode that she really believed this and that were the answer to what was causing Faith’s condition and getting her well.  Sigh… some people don’t take cues that another is utterly exhausted from the journey of caring for or being a chronically ill child with a serious health condition, is only here to have a break for an hour and enjoy a mother-daughter lunch as a treat in this difficult journey… and not interested the “instant cure” of a stranger who knows nothing about the situation.

Nevertheless, she had “cures” for Faith, for cancer (“Cure any cancer at home for 5-15/day”)… the list seemed to be endless.  Among the most ironic comments she made were that in this book I would read (that she wanted me to purchase) how I should cut back my child’s sugar intake – lol… right… my child who is on a diet of very limited carbs and sugar.  Okaaaayyyy… ironically, this part of the conversation took place over a table of sample pound cakes – several with artificial sugar substitutes.  Next, she informed me that I could “Google” to do some research…. WAIT!!!  Hold everything!!  You’re telling me that I can actually look up information on my computer?!  ???  No way!!  That never even crossed my mind in the two plus years we’ve been dealing with severe exacerbations of this.  I didn’t even bother to tell her that as a nurse (Faith had already mentioned I was an RN in an unsuccessful attempt to turn off the verbal barrage), I do my research on PubMed.  Her next attempt at what I like to refer to as used car sales was to try to get me to purchase some of their products by shoving a flier in my hand and telling me how I could use their sauces to make a wonderful meatloaf… yeah, I put it back in front of her.  I think I can handle meatloaf, thanks.  She gave me her “personal card” and mentioned there was some information there I should look into as well… now, you might be surprised to learn this; but, it turns out that her “personal card” informed me that she is in business with ViSalus, which is a multi-level marketing company.  Ahhh yes… it’s all coming into focus now… even for a woman operating on very little sleep.

Now, those of you who don’t know me well might not realize the effect that a pushy salesperson has on me.  If I was considering purchasing before, you can rest assured I won’t be now.  🙂  I told Faith I was about to walk out, but she pleaded to stay and given what she’s endured in the last few days, I didn’t have the heart to take that away from her too.  I was appalled that not only would someone be using this Tea Room as a place to recruit unsuspecting patrons; but, she also chose to prey on exhausted parents weary from fighting to save their children.  Ugh… horrifying.  Anyway… either she finally got the message after we walked away yet again or we managed to dodge her after that.  I did keep her card… wanted to be sure I get her name right when I report her.  On to the Tea Room luncheon… 😀

Sometimes, when Faith wants something and I tell her “No”, she does what you see in the photo below… sticks out her lip, circles an angel halo over her head and gives me her best big brown eyes look.  hehehehe  It’s totally adorable and has become a family joke over the years.  It never gets her what she wants, but she knows I love to see her do it (when she can pull if off without dissolving into giggles) – always gives me a chuckle!  Today, I caught it on camera – I LOVE this face!!!  😀

Pouty Angel Face – love this!! ♥

Fortunately, the afternoon tea itself revived us a bit.  We love going to Tea Rooms… it’s a favorite Mother/Daughter outing for us!  We had a lovely lunch of tea sandwiches, pomegranate tea, fruit, vegetables and pound cakes.  The Pomegranate Tea was absolutely fabulous and the almond pound cake was very good as well. Personally, I would have preferred more vegetables and sandwiches and less cake, but oh well… we left satisfied.  😉

Tea Room Luncheon

Arrived home … eventually… plenty of traffic… several calls back and forth and we were established with home health to receive medication and let a nurse come to the house for the 24 hour site check, dressing change and the first infusion.  Praying that the OCD does not cause her to pick or pull at the PICC line or dressing/bandage.

Meds are here, schedule is set for tomorrow… and I am one tired Momma!!!  Time for some precious sleep!!!  😀

Zzzzzzzzzzz

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications (instant, daily, weekly or never) of new posts by email.

Join 70 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,521 hits
