Strep… a new project and dietary changes

I have strep throat again myself (4th time in five months for me – many, many more times for Faith).

We will be traveling to her CT immunologist again this week for another IVIG infusion for her, which will be done over a two day period. The infusion center is very nice and quite comfortable for the children. The nurses are absolutely wonderful with them; we are so thankful!! Faith must be well hydrated before, during and after these infusions, to minimize side effects of the IVIG… that part can be quite challenging when she has a sore throat… which she often does due to the strep throat and she does right now.

I’m going to be collaborating with other health care providers (I’m an RN, for those of you who do not know) on a project in which we will gather a ‘snapshot’ view of PANDAS patients to better educate our peers and help improve care for our children with PANDAS. I’m looking forward to making more headway in that area.

I am also researching dietary support for her immune system and will be making more changes to her diet… likely wheat gluten and casein free… this one will involve more work than what I’ve already done for her (eliminating dyes, caffeine, sugars and reducing carbs while increasing protein… and no pre-prepared or processed foods), but I hope will be well worth it as I know a lot of PANDAS moms have found very good success in reducing symptoms.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chickiepea
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 14:48:06

    Let me know if there is ANYTHING I can do. I’m happy to help tweak recipes, etc. too if there is anything she is really missing eating.

    ❤ Continued love and support from our family to yours.

    Reply

  2. mom2myhero
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 11:10:42

    Thank you VERY much A – you’re the best!! I love to tweak them too! 😉 I’ve altered so many of them for her hypoglycemia issues already. I’m subscribed to your blog for inspiration and will likely soon include a recipe section here on mine as well.
    Right now, she is going through the “I want what I can’t have” stage, but that passes as she sees that her diet continues to consist of mostly fresh, nutritious foods she has eaten all her life and I’ll modify problem recipes for her.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications (instant, daily, weekly or never) of new posts by email.

Join 70 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 32,274 hits
